The Battle River Watershed Alliance is a local alliance — a web of people, organizations, governments, and businesses who live, work, and play in the Battle River and Sounding Creek Watersheds. We all work together to maintain and improve the health of our watersheds.

We would like to acknowledge the following partners for their support:

A group of BRWA staff and supporters with members of the GOA

Provincial Government

Alberta Environment and Parks is a significant funder of the BRWA and other Watershed organizations. In turn, the work of the BRWA supports the Government of Alberta’s Water for Life Strategy. We are very grateful to Alberta Environment and Parks for their financial and technical support.

The BRWA has also had the pleasure of working with Alberta Agriculture and Forestry, and the Climate Change office through the Community Environment Action Grant.

City of Camrose Council gathers in the chambers

Municipal Governments

There are over 40 municipal governments in our watersheds. Many of these governments choose to support our work through the Invest 50 program – where they annually donate $0.50 for every resident who resides within our boundaries. We thank all of these municipalities for their financial and/or in-kind support.

Counties and MDs in our Watershed Include:

Beaver, Camrose, Paintearth, Stettler, Vermilion River, Wetaskiwin, Flagstaff, Lacombe, Provost, Wainwright, Ponoka.
The Battle River or Sounding Creek watershed also covers part of the Special Areas 2, 3, and 4.

Cities, Towns, and Villages in our Watershed Include:

Alliance, Bawlf, Bittern Lake, Botha, Camrose, Consort, Donalda, Edberg, Edgerton, Ferintosh, Forestburg, Gadsby, Halkirk, Hardisty, Hay Lakes, Killam, Lacombe, Lougheed, Ponoka, Paradise Valley, Sedgewick, Strome, and Viking.

The Battle River watershed also contains Summer Villages at Pigeon Lake, including: Argentia Beach, Crystal Springs, Golden Days, Grandview, Poplar Bay, Ma-Me-O Beach, and Norris Beach.

Picture captured during Maskwacis Water Ceremony

First Nations

The Maskwacis Cree Nation is an integral part of our watershed management and stewardship efforts. The four nations of Maskwacis include Ermineskin Cree Nation, Louis Bull Tribe, Montana First Nation, and Samson Cree Nation.

Picture featuring Cargill BBQ

Business and Industry

The BRWA relies on program sponsorship and donations made to us by industry partners who operate in our watersheds. Working together for common goals, these partnerships strengthen both parties. We thank these recent sponsors for their support:

ATCO Power, Camrose Energy, Cargill Canada and Cargill Cares, Enbridge, and Nutrien.

A staff member from Cows and Fish host the Cows, Fish, Cattledogs, and Kids game for a bunch of excited children.


We work with countless organizations to expand our reach and effectiveness. Some of these organizations provide funding, some provide in-kind support, and some we work with as partners. In whatever capacity, we thank these organizations for their time and effort in recent years:

Agroforestry and Woodlot Extension Society, Alberta Beef Producers, Alberta Centre for Sustainable Rural Communities, Alberta Conservation Association, Alberta Council for Environmental Education, Alberta Health Services, Alberta Real Estate Foundation, Alberta Ecotrust Foundation, Alberta Lake Management Society, Alberta Water Council, Battle River Community Foundation, Camrose and District Fish and Game Society, Ducks Unlimited Canada, Friends of Little Beaver Lake, and Land Stewardship Centre.

WPACs Stewardship Events